During the first few months after I had Baby, time I was not actively caring for him was either spent sleeping or hurriedly taking a shower. After a few months, I occasionally got an hour here or there and almost exclusively used it for housework, cutting hair, etc. Then, I started getting a little more time between when he went to bed and when I went to bed (often because I stay up too late...) and I started to get to watch TV shows again. Listen to books while cleaning. Spend time with Husband. I had a need for "me time" or to do things. At first, time without Baby was like a shock: I didn't know what to do with myself. Now, less of a shock, I am more likely to squander it goofing off while there's a pile of dishes in the sink... like... right now... >.> But I do spend a lot of the day cleaning and trying to keep up with things. I think of entertainment / goofing off as a different type of need, so I don't feel bad about it. Mostly...
At some point, I want to have a hobby or Thing I do more of. Right now, I guess it's reading / listening to books and that's nice enough for now. I am not in a huge rush so much as aware that it'd be nice. Also, Baby is old enough now that I think it's important he learn that my world does not actually (well... probably shouldn't?) completely revolve around him. I will still be there when he needs me and I will still provide for him, but he and I will get a little more time hanging with other people and/or I will do a few other things. Just... have to decide what they are... Blogging was the first thing and I still don't do that much. So... we'll see how it goes!
No comments:
Post a Comment