I'm about 12 years older. I have a baby. I was a programmer for a
while. The more I got to design and program the more I loved the job.
The more I had to use crappy, poorly-documented code and broken builds
the more I hated it. Overall, I'd do it again in a heartbeat but not
until the baby is older. I have the option to stay home with him
indefinitely and, although it is exhausting work, I love every minute of
it. I used to think people just said that so they didn't feel bad about
how hard it is, but it's totally true. I love it. What can I say, I'm a
sucker for hard work and, now, babies. Or at least mine.
Speaking
of the new gig, that's part of why I haven't started writing again and
part of why I need this. I have just gotten to where I now have 1-3
hours without the baby (or anyone else, usually) at night. It can be a
time of reflection and writing helps me make the most of that, so here I
am.
When my son was born, I lost my false sense of
security. You know, the feeling like bad things don't just happen to us
out of the blue. It's an important thing to have and it's really hard to
live without, though it is untrue and undeserved. Bad things happen out
of the blue all the time to perfectly wonderful people. For a few
months there, my OCD went a bit overboard: regaling me with all the
horrible things that, because I could imagine them, necessarily must be
bound to happen to my new baby, myself and/or my husband. That if I left
my baby for any reason, Terrible Things that only I could have
prevented were going to happen to him. Fortunately, I knew this wasn't
True and I still got breaks for things like showering, using the
bathroom and sometimes to eat without the baby on me. The baby parts
were beautiful and the scary brain parts were a special kind of hell
that I'm glad only lasted a couple months. It was exhausting. As if
having a new baby isn't exhausting enough. I'm sure a lot of the
heightened OCD was just sleep deprivation. I still don't sleep much, but
enough to be much more functional and enough to keep my OCD back to
very functional mostly-non-existent levels again. Well, it's nearly my
new much-earlier bedtime and if I don't observe it I will be One Tired
Mama. And that makes for a boring mama. My baby deserves better than
that. Plus, I've got a fairly solid start on this blogging thing again. I
hope I can reconnect with some old friends around here and maybe make
some new ones. :)
No comments:
Post a Comment