Thursday, October 11, 2018

Bedtime was half an hour ago

And I so desperately needed to get to bed on time or early tonight. Instead, I'm having a bit of a hard night. I haven't been eating often enough (possibly not enough in general). The baby is starting to need solid foods more often now so I need to work that into the schedule, which already feels like a lot. It seems as soon as I get us out and do something he can enjoy, he's ready to eat and fall back to sleep again. And if I miss that (sleepiness) window by too much he's over tired and won't sleep well the rest of the night, then wakes up at 4am the next day, etc. It's just not worth letting him miss his nap window by too much.

And now my mom is not speaking to me because she's afraid of how I'm feeding him solids. I've researched this method and it has proven no more likely for the babies doing it to choke. In fact, they may be less likely to after 3 months and we're 2 months in! She thinks she's Making a Point by threatening to disown me. Intellectually, I realize that she's Really Scared and wants me to know how scared she is. Viscerally, it's just another way she's telling me she won't have anything to do with me if I don't do things her way. Whether it's because she's scared or mad, it doesn't matter because the message is the same. I already can't ask her for help or even just vent about spousal things or talk to her about baby things because she dislikes Husband and everything I'm doing with the baby she's sure is Wrong and most of it she's sure will kill him. Hence, the disowning thing.

It's time for me to just go to bed. Goodnight, folks. Here's hoping I can catch at least one nap with the baby tomorrow... Gods know I need it...

No comments:

Post a Comment